Diary 2023-08-30

Tags:
By Max Woerner Chase

Well, I'm still thinking about Impliciula, but I don't think I'm up for the amount of documentation I'd need to read to figure out what capabilities it needs to have, and how they should be expressed.

So, writing. I have no idea how well I did on the scene I'm drafting currently, but it's not something I have much experience with, so that's interesting to me. Two characters are trying to communicate, but they have one language in common, which neither of them are entirely fluent in. One has a broad vocabulary but mostly uses the language informally, resulting in "uneducated-sounding" grammar. The other can remember what words mean after hearing them used, but as far as speaking, can only remember entire sentences meant to be used as cocktail-party witticisms.

I'm trying to go for a contrast between an expert in various matters who ends up talking "like a caveman", and someone who can sound "high-bred" but has minimal relevant knowledge. I don't know how well I pulled it off, but whatever. The one thing I still want to do in this area is to have a technobabble lecture in caveman-speak.

But for now, I need to get to bed.

Good night.