Diary 2023-08-28

Tags:
By Max Woerner Chase

After all of the Cohost stuff I worked out, I still need to give those drafts some editing passes, but I don't wanna... So, for this next week, I'm going to try to focus on writing, to take my focus off the Cohost drafts.

I'm going to need to work on having stuff to say about this writing, or the next week's worth of entries are going to be really boring. Oh well.

I'll see what I can do right now, then get this published.

The setting for the story I'm working on is called the Sundered Empire. Centuries before the story starts, the lines of communication and commerce in an interstellar empire were severed by a series of rebellions, dividing the empire into many smaller states. In the years since, the different states developed their own identities; when the connections began to be re-established, the different states refused to re-integrate. At the time the story starts, fully reunifying the empire is a pipe dream, a topic of idle conversation among the upper class. However, one ambitious noble comes across hints of lost technology that could obliterate the borders between the states, and enlists the services of a legendary thief to recover it. The trail leads to a planet that has been left alone since the time of the Sundering, where the thief meets and eventually befriends an accomplished polymath who leads a small tribe living in the jungle. Stuff happens, and then they discover the lost technology and turning it on makes everything more complicated and precarious.

So, um, that's the first book, and, spoilers, maybe, I dunno. My hope is that I can get the readers through the whole "legendary thief on a strange planet" plot without ever overwhelming them with the "former empire" backstory.

We'll see how I do with expanding on that summary in a few days.

Good night.