Diary 2023-08-31

Tags:
By Max Woerner Chase

I haven't heard anything about not making us go into the office for, frankly, no good reason, even as the trend lines bend back upwards. This sucks.

I tried to distract myself from that by doing some writing. I've gone a but further forward in the Sundered Empire stuff, at least chronologically, but I keep on setting the characters challenges and puzzles that then I have to figure out how they'd tackle them.

Like, okay, someone shows up from space, and, through heroic efforts at communication, conveys to you that they were sent to do something, and whether they succeed or fail, both outcomes are bad. What do you do with that information? How do you determine whether they're running some kind of con? Suppose it seems reasonable that the outcomes would be, in fact, bad, but it's not clear whether those outcomes will actually come about.

I suppose also I'm worried that all of this caution might read as strange to some of the audience, but I think it makes sense, and I don't want things to go super-easy for the main characters. I'm definitely not going to take it as far as "and now they have a knock-down brawl", not least because the one from space needs physical therapy to deal with being-in-space deficiency.

I guess I'll just have to sleep on it.

Good night.