Diary 2024-03-13

Tags:
By Max Woerner Chase

I'm feeling really tired right now, going to have to deal with that somehow.

I was thinking some today about the history of conlangs, and the way that the craft of conlanging has been entangled to varying degrees with utopian thinking. I personally haven't had to deal with this any (except for from myself once like twenty years ago, when I was sure I'd cracked the code to representing and manipulating concepts in a consistent framework with a simple phonetic representation...), so I'm thinking about this in terms of its historical legacy.

I don't know if my thoughts are well-developed enough for me to go into much more detail without accidentally offending someone (I'd like it to be on purpose), but that is what I've been thinking about a lot. And questions like...

Sadly, it turns out that linguistics ability is not a substitute for project management. Lots of things aren't, like programming ability.

Ugh, I'd like to end this post on a more definite note, but I'm feeling incredibly tired. Like, all I can say for how I feel right now is that it is possible to feel even more tired than this, which is not an impressive bar to clear.

Good night.