Diary 2023-12-31

Tags:
By Max Woerner Chase

I could have made this into a coding entry, but I didn't. The main thing worth talking about that I did today was to take a VueJS 2 project that I'm passingly familiar with, and try to create a fork using VueJS 3. I very, very quickly ended up out of my depth, and decided, you know what, I'm going to focus on the other things I want out of this project.

(The problem I ran into was how to convert set and delete calls into uses of proxy objects, when I was having trouble tracking down which code actually populates the values that need to be replaced with proxies. If someone can point me (on Mastodon or Cohost or whatever) to a resource that explains how to deal with this in an unfamiliar codebase, I think that's all I'd actually need to attempt the update again. No advanced libraries or anything complicating the migration.)

Anyway, the more significant thing I wanted to work on with this was a comprehensive overhaul of the visual language, because it's kind of a bad sign, I think, when I have to squint at small numbers on weird contrast backgrounds that give me crazy afterimages.

I'll try and explain what I'm on about later; I want to wrap things up right now.

Good night.