Diary 2022-08-31

By Max Woerner Chase

I have no memory of where the time went today, at least, not after I "fixed" the technical difficulties that kept me from publishing yesterday. Basically, my home folder was too big, so I made some drastic adjustments that fit with how I actually use the files that I moved around, so the result should be fine. We'll see. There's a bit more that I can do to alleviate the situation, but I don't need to. I probably should though.

Anyway, there's some work to be done on this still that's in other areas, and I don't want to think about that right now.

ANYWAY.

I've been thinking about NABTO, and there are some scary interdependencies there. Like, when you have imports as a runtime concept, then that means that the import system needs to handle st<h> effects, and I'm not totally sure what that looks like. It's possible that trying to combine "dynamic language" with "Koka-style effect types" will result in something completely unrecognizable for reusing code, but I'm not really sure yet. I don't want to give up on the idea before I've thoroughly explored it. Sadly, I don't have time right now, because it's late and I'm struggling not to make weird typos.

Anyway, that's enough time spent trying to write more of this post.

Good night.