Diary 2022-04-27

By Max Woerner Chase

Hahaha, I thought I was done with the work stuff. Oh well, at least I don't have to look for stuff to do while I'm slogging through this.

Anyway, I didn't do much today, I don't think, so, status update on stuff I was talking about last time... Entering this data into a spreadsheet was annoying, because the spreadsheet

Insisted on treating the cell contents

As sentences

Sure.

And I lost like ten, twenty minutes to write this post because I managed to freeze my laptop opening the relevant options dialog in LibreOffice too many times because it didn't open at first. And then I had to remember how to restore the file, because neovim doesn't seem to handle it well. I swear tech usually treats me better.

Anyway, my experience there inspired me to plan out ways to handle this stuff in code. I've got some preliminary notes that could be used to handle sound changes myself, but I'd rather come up with some kind of interface around Lexurgy. I think I'd like to use it as a library, but failing that, I can either generate data for it, or hardcode a lot of the interactions and parse stuff out of the output.

So, maybe that'll be what I look into at some point: do Python 3/JVM interop options work for this?

Anyway, it's late and I've got a busy morning tomorrow.

Good night.