Diary 2024-05-06

By Max Woerner Chase

Well, things went late today, but I have done some research for the naming language that I want to use for the Fabula Ultima setting. (This kind of thing probably wouldn't work in a normal game, but I'm going to try to play solo, which... may end up involving a prohibitive amount of bookkeeping. We'll see.)

Basically, I'm trying to get inspiration from Old Norse, to match up with the Dungeons and Dragons Standard Fantasy Races that make up part of the setting. I didn't really like my attempts to draw stuff directly from Old Norse, so instead I've just been researching the aesthetics, and I think I've gotten to the point where I understand things well enough to move on to my satisfaction. (This could have been a more detailed understanding, if the explanations I'd found about phonotactics had been a bit longer.)

Basically, I should have enough information on hand to put together a basic phonology, phonotactics, and structure for basic parts of speech, so then I can start playing around and coming up with word roots.

Anyway, I should have been in bed ten minutes ago, oops.

Good night.