Diary 2023-09-14

Tags:
By Max Woerner Chase

Hm. This is awkward. I was coming up with stuff to work on later, but I don't really have much to talk about from that yet...

I mean I guess I can drop a few things in here... I want to retool Missable Mysteries, in part because I'm no longer vibing with the name. Ideally, I want something that is a little more up-front about its currently hidden agenda, which is to armchair-diagnose a celebrity with dyscalculia.

But I had some thoughts about math stuff I could talk about without having a weird hidden agenda, and I'm currently trying to put together an outline for "alternative representations of numbers, especially ones that easily express things that we don't normally think of as numbers". Like "a notation that treats numbers as a special case of matrices" or "this is an extension to (a subset of) the rationals, which breaks ordering, but not the way that complex numbers do". One thing I need to work out with this idea is how much theory to frontload...

Anyway, I've got nothing else in me for today, so it's time to wrap up.

Good night.