Diary 2023-09-02

By Max Woerner Chase

Getting to some good stuff in writing, but I need to think some about where to take it next. I've got some travel and stuff coming up in the next few days, so maybe I'll end up switching gears for a bit again soon.

One thing I'll need to ponder is a way to give the original main character a chance to shine again. The (not-quite-drafted) introductory sequence has them doing cool stuff, and then being brought low. I'm going to need to figure out how to showcase their skills, because they're mostly way outside of a context where their skills would reasonably apply.

Like, this is pulp-inspired, and I'm trying to avoid the "hypercompetent outsider" concept, but they should be good for something besides moral support. I'll have to think about this.

Good night.