Diary 2023-06-09

By Max Woerner Chase

It's possible that "unlock new orbs and relics", "unlock more Cruciball levels" and "unlock new characters" are goals that I shouldn't be trying to pursue all simultaneously. Oh well.

Anyway, I ended up deciding to focus on learning OCaml for coding, at least for now. My rationale is that the OCaml/Koka side of things is part of what I want to draw from for NABTO, with Python on the other side, and I want to have a better handle on OCaml, especially the module system, before I commit to any design decisions. Like, I think there are a bunch of issues I have with Python that would be addressed by having ML-style modules instead of class-based inheritance, but I'm encountering some trade-offs when I imagine going all-in.

I don't want to speculate too much, but it looks like the next thing I'd want to look into, once I have a handle on OCaml (and I'm just now starting out, currently), is Julia. But, like, one thing at a time.

:)

*cough* GDScript *cough*

Two-ish things at a time.

Anyway, it's getting late and I want to wrap things up for tonight.

Good night.