Diary 2023-02-15

By Max Woerner Chase

I came up with something to write about. Unfortunately, I ended up spending a lot of time today planning it, so this entry is going to have to be pretty rushed.

Here is the general idea:

Right now, the Internet Discourse around Hogwarts Legacy is Extremely Normal. For my part, rather than spend $60 on a game in a franchise I no longer pay attention to (Johnny Depp was in some of the movies I guess? I don't care?), I put $60 in a related but very different direction. Nobody wants me to provide a take on Hogwarts Legacy, and I don't want to formulate one, so what if I focused on other games? After all, I've got... four-ish tabletop supplements, thirty-eight-ish tabletop games, twenty-three-ish video games, a poem, a soundtrack, and a set of tarot cards in there. I also want to look into a few things not in the bundle that are directly related to it, and a few things not related to the bundle, but I thought of them because of it.

And if this goes well, there are plenty more bundles from the past for me to look through and see what I've got...

So, my plan right now is to pick, say, four things to write drafts on, and see what kind of time frame that gets me. My goal is to figure out some whole number multiple of a week to put stuff out on. If this all ends up being a reasonable set of things to do, then I'll be making posts here, probably under a category of, like, "reviews" or something, and putting reviews on the relevant store pages. I'll be bringing in my wife for additional commentary and for player-two stuff as needed for the tabletop games.

Things are late enough tonight, so I'll wrap up for now, and later I'll finish planning the first round of drafts.

Good night.