Diary 2020-08-15

By Max Woerner Chase

I wasn't really up for increasing the test coverage on my Lox interpreter today, because the next natural section to work on covering is the various ways that a C-style for-loop can be written, and I'm a snob when it comes to for-loops, apparently. I'll hopefully be up for it tomorrow, but we'll see.

In any case, I guess what I actually did do today was mess around with a LMMS tutorial. I have gotten to a slightly rocky bit as a result of not following the tutorial completely; I diverged from the tutorial either because:

Anyway, I'm not really in love with the sound of what I've got so far. I assume this isn't due to the tutorial, but some combination of personal musical taste, lack of experience choosing samples, and leaving the Beat + Bassline Editor playing on loop while I entered all of the percussion. I'll come back to that later as well, sometime when I'm better rested, and able to relate what the tutorial says to what I've got in front of me.

Good night.