Diary 2019-07-27

By Max Woerner Chase

I was working a bit late today, so that's one reason I don't have much to write about now. Another is that I mostly played Nova Drift and tried to write.

We also watched a movie. Texas Chainsaw Massacre 3. My wife thinks the second one was better, and I'm inclined to agree.

I'm not sure about this, but I think maybe the series so far doesn't really have a strong genre identity? Like, some horror franchises are very specifically slasher movies, or whatever, but the common thread here seems to mostly be "creepy backwoods murder cult family". Like, maybe they're hovering on the periphery of what the protagonists know. Or maybe they're hiding out and need to be flushed out. Or maybe they coincidentally just utterly ruin some people's lives. The distinctions here seem somewhere between "subtle" and "non-existent", so maybe I'm just totally wrong.

Regardless, my biggest takeaway is that it would have been funny if someone just ran with the scenario at the beginning of the second movie, and just went full Sweeney Todd with it. That, and I'm not sure the first two movies are directly comparable, since they're different in tone, but both are better than the third IMO.

And that's all I can possible write for now, super sleepy. Good night.