Diary 2018-12-23

By Max Woerner Chase

I banged out some more sprites for tic-tac-toe, without sketching things out beforehand, which was a bad idea because they ended up just really haphazardly placed. I'm going to have to work out a more sensible placement later, and also I have like eight more sprites to make, at least. UI work is a Whole Thing. Rearranging the current sprites and adding cursor sprites should be enough for me to then start messing with code. It's also possible that I'll end up completely reworking the win-line sprites, so maybe I should scrap those, or at least not use them yet. Also, I've got the cartridge open in my text editor, and it could do with a squarer font for displaying the graphics section. I wonder if I could write a syntax highlighter for these using the PICO-8 palette. Oh wow, the syntax highlighting from the PICO-8 package is... interesting. (I did at least find some stuff that sort of justifies the O mark, so I'm leaving it as-is for now.)

Other than that, I've been doing more of the stuff I said I wasn't going to blog about. Also, listening to the, um, Mouth trilogy? Some of these are so intensely weird that I have to stop doing anything else, which kind of slows things down.

I'm a little annoyed that these posts are so short. I mean, I've got plenty of time all day to do stuff and think about stuff, but, well... I dunno.