Diary 2022-07-29

By Max Woerner Chase

Writing is going well. I've gotten to the point where there's a little bit that I feel like I need to fill in for the current draft, and besides that, it's just as much as I feel like adding on. Then I'll take a break, because I'm pretty sure I can't just grind away at this constantly.

Anyway, I mentioned some programming language stuff yesterday. I've been looking at Koka recently. It's an experimental language that is built around the concept of an "effect system", which is basically a generalization of exceptions, coroutines, output, non-termination...

It's a pretty ambitious idea, basically, and I'm curious to see what I can do with it; I've got some somewhat ambitious ideas in mind, so I'm trying to figure out a good limited-scope project to start teaching myself how to use it first. I might try out some of the ideas I had for messing with BQN... One thing I need to clear up for myself first, is when to be using a linked list, and when to be using a vector.

Anyway, I had plenty of time to wind down when I started this entry, but I went really slowly, so I'm going to just stop abruptly.

Good night.