Diary 2022-03-04

By Max Woerner Chase

I wasn't really coordinated today, so I'm going to talk a bit about what I'm planning to write while I take a break from worldbuilding.

Basically, I saw more discussion about Fiasco recently, and saying that it worked better as a writing aid than as a game. It's been a while since I played it, but that idea basically makes sense to me; the "game mechanics" aspect of it didn't quite gel for me. Like, I couldn't quite see the right way into the magic circle, or something.

Point is, that discussion got me to revisit it, and put stuff together to try to learn it as a writing tool, as a change of pace.

I'm using the classic rules because I haven't heard anything about the updated version that makes me go "Yes, I need this", and I have heard about some changes that make it less convenient for some of the stuff I want to try than the classic rules, so, there we go.

I'm trying to ease myself into some of the more advanced playsets, so I'm starting with a really basic one and no extra rules. One double-edged aspect of not having any other players is, I don't need to schedule this around anything, but at the same time, I don't have obligations to anyone else to actually do this on any kind of time frame. Hopefully, I'll manage to pick up the pace a bit in the next day or so.

Anyway, I spent too long trying to write this, so I'd better get going.

Good night.