Diary 2021-09-11

By Max Woerner Chase

Worldbuilding status: I'm trying to figure out how I want really widespread access to magic to have affected the setting. There are basically a few knobs that I'm adjusting here:

What I basically want to get to is a scenario where the existence of magic has obvious, logical effects, but it's reasonable to apply high-level concepts from our own history to the broad strokes.

I guess the sensible thing to do now is to try to work in the other direction, given a few of the other notes I've taken.

The thing that always gets me worried about my worldbuilding efforts is, what if I come up with some stuff that has a particular logical consequence, but I miss that, and come up with something else that isn't compatible with that logical consequence.

Maybe I just need to lighten up about that. It's not like anyone can send me to liar's jail over it.

Anyway, I'm hoping to make some real progress on MOTR in the next few days. See you then.

Good night.