Diary 2021-09-10

By Max Woerner Chase

Back to worldbuilding stuff. I'm focusing on outlining a short, simple narrative that covers a bunch of the basic ideas I've worked out. Unfortunately, the experience is so like pulling teeth that, after I wrote a paragraph-long outline, I'm now all "Okay, that's enough for now".

I wanted to come up with something else to say about this, but I'm feeling a little on-edge right now as a result of stuff I don't want to put in this entry.

Anyway, besides that, I was considering some other aspects of the worldbuilding. The setting has kind of a mythic-scale history that means I want to generally ignore anything but the broad strokes of its history beyond a few thousand years before the "present". I don't really feel value for this setting in coming up with elaborate alternative flora and fauna, especially since humans are already a thing in the setting. At the same time, I don't want to have very specific forms of animal, plant, (fungus?) showing up. So, there are horses, but rather than having, say, Clydesdales show up, I want to have breeds based on the needs and aesthetics of regions in the setting. All that said, I do think it would be worth having some animals and plants show up with no obvious Earth analogue, but in general...

Anyway, that's enough for now. I'm going to wrap up and get to bed soon.

Good night.