Diary 2021-04-15

By Max Woerner Chase

I have come to the following conclusion on the conlang romanization stuff I was thinking about yesterday: I have an idea that feels solid to me for my own use, but if I end up wanting to put text in this language in front of other people, romanized, I think I'll want to come up with something that doesn't look like "brē 'klàtró" or whatever, which I'm not totally sure is on the level in terms of phonotactics, but I don't yet understand some of the stuff I want to include well enough to be sure or to explain what I'm doing. The point is, I guess I'm self-conscious about producing something that looks like stereotypical fantasy names...

But now that I think about it, do I want to care about people making that kind of aesthetic judgment? Like, I'm not going to be just sprinkling the diacritics and apostrophes on randomly, and they'll probably be less frequent because they only go on stressed syllables.

Anyway, I'm tinkering with that, and code, and feeling good about things. I think I'll try to focus more properly on coding in the coming days, as follows:

Anyway, it is painfully late, so I'm going to wrap up now.

Good night.