Diary 2021-04-14

By Max Woerner Chase

I did some work today on conlanging stuff. This is a different language from one that I was working on a bunch before. I don't want to go into too much detail yet, because there are a lot of things that I could see myself changing or abandoning. Suffice it to say that I'm in the vicinity of halfway through working on phonotactics, and I'm noticing that what I have currently will take some careful effort to get a good romanization for it.

See, this is one of the things you don't have to worry about with a five vowel system. There are five vowels. And here I am going "okay, there are two fundamental axes of variation, so they can't both be diacritics" (can they?)

Anyway, I should ponder these questions later, because it is basically midnight.

Good night.