Diary 2019-06-05

By Max Woerner Chase

Taking it easy like I said. Earlier, I went over my attempts to do chiptunes stuff. The basic problem I'm seeing currently is that I don't have a good sense of instrumentation, so everything is sine waves or "organ". I've got the somewhat reinforcing problems of not having a good sense of which instruments go to which part of the sheet music in the full arrangement, and not having a good sense of how to instrument for the PICO-8 in any case. I'm thinking the best way forward with composition here would be to try to do some more minimal stuff. If it fits in a single SFX, I can consider the whole thing at once. This would lock me out of some of the tricks I used to implement triplets and weird measure lengths, but that's not a problem if the whole point is to do simple stuff.

I also took a look over the lexicon for the conlang I mentioned, and it looks like I actually am going to have to translate a bunch of the sample to recover portions of the lexicon. Oops.

I don't have any kind of a summary here. Um, take care of yourself and try to avoid burnout? I don't know. Good night.