Diary 2019-04-04

By Max Woerner Chase

I spent today being sleepy and trying to square some stuff away, so I'm going to try describing some old stuff I alluded to yesterday.

In my efforts to get a handle on neural nets, I rolled my own library for manipulating them. Because I've never really approached optimization in a principled manner, it was pretty slow, no matter what crazy rewrites I did to it. I believe part of the problem was that I had too much going on in the hot loops, basically as a result of including dynamic capabilities that I don't think were necessary in that context.

To be a little more concrete:

Well, I've got all these ideas, but I should probably be collecting statistics on the code to be able to see if they're at all worth it. In any case, the stuff I was talking about in the last bullet point sounds nice and all, but you may wonder how I intend to attempt it.

Gosh, it's late. Good night.