Diary 2019-02-25

By Max Woerner Chase

Slightly more in-depth info on the rolls stuff:

It looks like all of the edge cases work for the fate chart rolls for Mythic, which surprised me a little. I'm going to have to come up with tests for this stuff. I also wrote functions for the Anima Prime rolls, which was simple, given that all of the complexity is in resource management, and so far as actual rolls, there are, like, one and a half kinds of rolls in Anima Prime. Then I tried to make the outputs look nicer; I'll need to actually use these some before I'm sure I did that right, but it's too late tonight for me to focus on that. I also feel like it should be possible to take the print calls out of this code and turn it into some kind of message-building thing, but, again, it's late.

...

Me fifteen minutes ago, a fool: "I'm not going to do this now. I have restraint."

Me now: "I had better get ready for bed right now, because I did the thing I said I wasn't going to do."

I'll try to write some tests for this later so I'm sure it all works, then think about showing it off.

Good night.