Diary 2019-01-28

By Max Woerner Chase

Instead of thinking I'm going to have an entry, and just not writing much, I'm going to resign myself to just doing basic diary entries for a bit, and try to take it easy.

Today, I started messing with two things. One was taking a Python codebase that's been unmaintained since I was in high school, and trying to get it to, um, work. Highlights include that fact that it exists entirely within a single file, and is thousands of lines long. Other fun things include tab-based indentation, and seemingly random globals declarations; I've weeded out the uneccesary ones, but I'm not sure about the ones that are missing. I haven't gotten around yet to the fact that WxPython has changed rather significantly since this code was last updated, and that's its own thing to deal with. The other thing is attempting to write up the rules for Continuum in a way that makes a little more sense to me. I've got a suspicion that it can be made to flow a little more linearly.

I don't know that I'll end up with anything to really discuss about either of these.

For now, though, I should be focusing on getting to bed earlier, and hopefully that'll eventually pay dividends in terms of accomplishing things. Good night.