Diary 2019-01-27

By Max Woerner Chase

Today I mostly focused on the secret project, which, like, it's a secret, so that's a non-starter.

I've also been looking into and back over some role-playing games. I've got the vague suspicion it's somehow possible to fuse a few dramatically different games into a ball of hilarious nonsense. I also kind of want to try to turn some of these rulebooks into wikis so I'm not doing page number math and flipping back and forth, but I remember how weird things got the last time I tried to do that, and I'm still not totally sure what was actually happening there. Probably if I want to do something like that, I should build it like one of the various SRD sites, and author it somewhat normally as compared to using TiddlyWiki, which seems to interact weirdly with a lot of things, last I checked, which was a while ago.

I guess what I'm trying to figure out is RPGs about time travel, specifically, and is it possible to represent the rules for them in an accessible fashion? The Continuum pdfs aren't accessible out of the box because there's no obvious organizational aids, and the actual books aren't accessible because they require a lot of money in order to be accessed. I'm wondering if it's possible to make something inspired by PbtA games or some other system; I don't really have a strong basis for choosing an inspiration.

I guess that's what I'm thinking about besides the secret project which is secret.